051.JPG

My name is Ewaz, I’m 59 years old. I was born at Qarblagh village, Panjab district of Bamyan province.

When I was a child, we did not have agricultural land in Bamyan province and my father worked on people’s farms on wages. I was 6 years old when my father due to sickness passed away, after my father’s death, the mother and my 2 sisters were forced to work for livelihoods.

I came to Kabul with my family when I was about 15 years old, and for 8 years I was involved in construction work to support my family. Then I joined the Afghan army to spend my military service and return to Kabul after 5 years of military service in Laghman province, and as a simple worker in the construction work of the Macroyan buildings of Kabul, I worked for about 11 years.

With the Taliban regime in power, life became more difficult and I was forced to immigrate to Pakistan with my wife and 4 children. In Pakistan, I and my sons started carpet weaving for living expenses.

After the security situation in Afghanistan improved a bit, I returned to the country and spent my life with working on simple construction works, until I was offered with a job by a friend at the lepco institute.  I worked at this institute for a year, but due to a lack of budget, after a year, I started working for OFARIN as a cleaner, and now I’m working for about 11 years in OFARIN. During this time with the salary which I received from OFARIN, I was able to involve my children in school and help them to be literate.